Met Office issues severe snow warning for 14 areas

The Met Office has issued a red alert for snow as temperatures are expected to plummet today. South West England, certain parts of the Midlands, and around the Home Counties are forecasted to experience numerous snow showers this morning, according to the organisation. They have advised drivers to exercise caution as roads are likely to become slippery.

The meteorological experts at the Met Office stated: “A brief spell of snow leading to tricky driving conditions in a few places. Rain will turn to snow at times this morning. “Not everywhere will see snow, and it may not settle on roads in some places. However, a few spots could see 1 to 3 cm accumulate. From mid-morning, any snow should turn to rain or die out, with lying snow thawing rapidly.”

Later today, ice is expected to pose a hazard as temperatures are anticipated to remain bitterly cold. Even by midday, temperatures are forecasted to struggle to exceed 2°C in Herefordshire and parts of rural Wales, while they will be around 3°C across most of the South West of England. Overnight, temperatures are expected to drop below freezing across parts of Dorset and Wiltshire.

The ice is expected to begin melting over the weekend, potentially leading to flooding in areas previously covered in snow. Currently, there are over 150 flood alerts and warnings, with the majority of them concentrated in South West England, where the snowfall is most intense. The Wylye Valley at Warminster, Wiltshire, Curry Moor and Hay Moor in Somerset, and the Hooke in rural Dorset are areas of particular concern. The Environment Agency is urging residents to monitor its website for updates.

The Met Office has issued a snow warning for the following areas today:

  • London and South East England
  • Oxfordshire
  • South West England
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • Bristol
  • Gloucestershire
  • North Somerset
  • Somerset
  • South Gloucestershire
  • Swindon
  • Wiltshire
  • Wales
  • Monmouthshire
  • West Midlands
  • Herefordshire
  • Shropshire
  • Warwickshire
  • Worcestershire
Scroll to Top